Skip to content

Crocus Lessons

March 19, 2010

Crocuses in bloom in Kansas City, March 18, 2010.

It’s been a long winter in Kansas City. I don’t mind the cold, but most of March has been wrapped in a damp blanket. The flat, gray days were starting to get to me. Yesterday the sun came out and the crocuses followed. I usually don’t notice them, don’t even know where they came from. We didn’t plant them. They must bloom every year, but their time is so brief and I’m so preoccupied that most years I miss them.

Yesterday was different. It’s spring break. My daughter is in Chicago with her high school show choir. My son is home for the week. The mother of one of his friends is recovering from surgery, and we asked what we could do to help speed her recovery. She asked us to host her son for a couple of days, which was easy since I’m working from home now. He says my omelets are “wicked good.” That inspired me to make red beans & rice for lunch, complete with andouille sausage. Second helpings? Of course. The boys played outside between video games, and when I saw the crocuses I thought, “I should grab the camera.”

The sky is gray again this morning. Fox 4 says snow is on the way. The days of the crocus are numbered, but they bloom anyway. They don’t care if they get noticed. It doesn’t matter what falls from the sky. They just do what they were created to do, in the right place, at the right time, for the right reason.

1st day of spring in Kansas City, March 20, 2010

3 Comments leave one →
  1. SueAnn permalink
    March 20, 2010 11:08 am

    Beautiful pix and narrative! I so agree that crocuses indicate the beginning of spring….even though we have snow again this morning. Thanks for sharing.

    • March 20, 2010 12:05 pm

      Thanks for visiting! Temps in the 70s should return next week. Snow happens, right?

  2. March 20, 2010 3:48 pm

    Great Pic Mr. Potter! Thanks for the link to your blog!

Leave a Reply

