Skip to content

How To Make The Dad Connection: Lesson 2

September 13, 2010

Your father, no matter what role he played in your past, is a critical component of redeeming your purpose. This is the second in a series of five lessons on Making the Dad Connection, learned from personal experience (click here to read Lesson 1). Your thoughts and suggestions, gleaned from your personal experience, are welcome in the comments below.

In December 1996, the year my son was born, my family and I moved to Kansas City where we discovered a church experience unlike any other. It was a newly formed, nondenominational church designed to reach and serve people who had never been part of a church, or had been turned off by a previous church experience. We bought completely into the mission, and in 1999 Mom and Dad agreed to watch the kids for a few days so we could attend a church leadership conference. They were happy to oblige.

After the conference we took my parents out for dinner to show our appreciation for their babysitting services. As we described our church’s approach — topics based on contemporary issues such as marriage and consumer debt, secular music and dramas performed to support the topic of the week — it was clear they weren’t getting it. “We like the old hymns,” Mom said, “and I want to have a hymnal in front of me. Contemporary music just doesn’t work for me.” I apologized if it sounded like we were bashing churches that adhere to a more traditional service, and explained to Mom that she and Dad weren’t our target market. The business metaphor seemed to go over Mom’s head, but Dad was nodding.

The next morning I said goodbye to Dad as he was shaving. “You’re doing good,” he said, pointing his razor blade at my chest. “You keep doing what you’re doing.”

It was as if God was saying through my father, “This is my son in whom I am well pleased.” [Note to self: affirm your children, with sincerity, as often as possible.] Every child wants to please Dad. Receiving affirmation of your father’s blessing is one of the greatest experiences ever. Lesson 2 in Making The Dad Connection: be bold and express your opinion, even if it might conflict with Dad’s.

Click here to read Lesson 3 in the series, Making the Dad Connection.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Janny permalink
    September 13, 2010 3:41 pm

    I love this~so powerful were your Dad’s words, and especially that you remembered him shaving. His razor was more than just to cut his whiskers.
    I’m going to read part one now.

    • September 13, 2010 4:34 pm

      Thanks Janny! I never saw the razor as a metaphor until now. Do you have similar memories of your dad? I remember him as very kind and gentle, with a great sense of humor.

Trackbacks

  1. Mona Lisa Million: Wednesday 15 September 2010 | Mister Good Guy

Leave a Reply

