Skip to content

The Voice Inside My Head

November 2, 2010

The voice in our heads won’t shut up until we discover if we’re right, if we can do it, if we can make something happen. (from Seth Godin’s blog, November 2, 2010)

Last January I quit my job so I could devote full time to establishing myself as a freelance writer, grant writer, and consultant to nonprofits. Over the next several months I landed a contract here and there, but as I wrote in yesterday’s post, by September I had decided to throw in the towel. It wasn’t until I was ready to quit that things started to click. It took 10 freaking months to finally land a couple of contracts that will begin to replace the paycheck I walked away from.

As I drove to my first “paid” appointment with a new major client yesterday afternoon it struck me: this is what I set out to do 10 months ago. It might actually work. OMG. And at 5:41 this morning Seth Godin’s blog post landed in my inbox. “How can you do it?” people ask him; to which replies, “How can you not do it.”

PS Exercise your freedom today. Vote.

Leave a Reply

