Skip to content

My Gutsy Story

December 12, 2011

The road to redeeming your purpose cannot coexist with the path of least resistance. Last week I worked up the nerve to enter @gutsyliving’s My Gutsy Story contest, where blogger Sonia Marsh is recognizing one mini-memoir (1000 words or fewer) each Monday. I whittled this story down to the maximum, and am surprised and honored that Sonia chose to feature it as today’s guest post.

Please visit Sonia’s Gutsy Living web site, read My Gutsy Story, and record your reaction in the comments section. At the end of the month, Sonia will ask readers to vote on their favorite Gutsy Story, and the winner has the choice of a number of awards, including advice and counsel on getting your story published. I can use all the help I can get!

Thanks for reading!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 7:08 pm

    You wrote a great story, Richard. Hope you win!

  2. December 12, 2011 10:14 pm

    Richard, I am so happy I met you. Thanks for submitting your inspiring “My Gutsy Story.” There are many parents who can relate to teenagers getting in trouble and you proved to the world that you were able to change your life around. Thanks for helping others.

    • December 13, 2011 8:13 am

      The feeling is mutual, Sonia. I am now the father of a 19-year-old daughter and a son who will turn 16 on Valentine’s Day. It has not been easy to tell them the stories of my “bad boy” years, but I have tried to be very honest with them in hopes that they choose a better path. So far, so good!

Leave a Reply

